TribLIVE
Blogs | Sports | News
Bucco Blog

« Font size »
Decrease | Reset |Increase

Spring training schedule released

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

LAS VEGAS — Because of the World Baseball Classic, spring training will be a week longer in 2009. The Pirates today released their 35-game Grapefruit League schedule, which includes 19 home games (three more than last year).

The Pirates’ first game is Feb. 25 against the Phillies at McKechnie Field in Bradenton, Fla. The Pirates also will play two night games at McKechnie: March 16 against the Rays and March 27 against the Blue Jays.

The home schedule includes two games against the Phillies, two against the Rays, two against the Red Sox and one against the Yankees.

The annual charity game against Manatee County Community College is slated for April 2.

The Pirates again will use two pricing plans, depending upon the marquee value of the opponent. Tickets are now on sale via www.pirates.com or by calling 941-747-3031.

2009 PITTSBURGH PIRATES SPRING TRAINING SCHEDULE
Day Date Opponent Site Time
Wednesday Feb. 25 PHILADELPHIA BRADENTON 1:05 p.m.
Thursday Feb. 26 Boston Fort Myers 1:05 p.m.
Friday Feb. 27 ATLANTA BRADENTON 1:05 p.m.
Saturday Feb. 28 Houston Kissimmee 1:05 p.m.
Sunday March 1 DETROIT BRADENTON 1:05 p.m.
Monday March 2 CINCINNATI BRADENTON 1:05 p.m.
Tuesday March 3 NETHERLANDS (WBC) BRADENTON 1:05 p.m.
Wednesday March 4 MINNESOTA BRADENTON 1:05 p.m.
Thursday March 5 Cincinnati Sarasota 1:05 p.m.
Friday March 6 TAMPA BAY BRADENTON 1:05 p.m.
Saturday March 7 Minnesota Fort Myers 1:05 p.m.
Sunday March 8 HOUSTON BRADENTON 1:05 p.m.
Monday March 9 BOSTON BRADENTON 1:05 p.m.
Tuesday March 10 Off Day
Wednesday March 11 Toronto Dunedin 1:05 p.m.
Thursday March 12 MINNESOTA BRADENTON 1:05 p.m.
Friday March 13 Philadelphia Clearwater 1:05 p.m.
Saturday March 14 NEW YORK BRADENTON 1:05 p.m.
Sunday March 15 Tampa Bay Port Charlotte 1:05 p.m.
Monday March 16 TAMPA BAY BRADENTON 7:05 p.m.
Tuesday March 17 New York Tampa 7:15 p.m.
Wednesday March 18 MINNESOTA BRADENTON 1:05 p.m.
Thursday March 19 Off Day
Friday March 20 Boston Fort Myers 1:05 p.m.
Saturday March 21 Cincinnati Sarasota 1:05 p.m.
Sunday March 22 CINCINNATI BRADENTON 1:05 p.m.
Monday March 23 TAMPA BAY BRADENTON 1:05 p.m.
Tuesday March 24 Atlanta Orlando 6:05 p.m.
Wednesday March 25 Tampa Bay Port Charlotte 7:05 p.m.
Thursday March 26 Off Day
Friday March 27 TORONTO BRADENTON 7:05 p.m.
Saturday March 28 PHILADELPHIA BRADENTON 1:05 p.m.
Sunday March 29 New York Tampa 1:15 p.m.
Monday March 30 CINCINNATI BRADENTON 1:05 p.m.
Tuesday March 31 Minnesota Fort Myers 1:05 p.m.
Wednesday April 1 BOSTON BRADENTON 1:05 p.m.
Thursday April 2 Cincinnati Sarasota 1:05 p.m.
MANATEE C.C. BRADENTON 1:05 p.m.
Friday April 3 MINNESOTA BRADENTON 1:05 p.m.
Saturday April 4 Minnesota Fort Myers 1:05 p.m.
facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail
 
Other blogs
Sports: Rob Rossi | Steel Mill | Chipped Ice | Bucco Blog | iPreps | Pitt Locker Room | Penn State Sports | Trailing Off
News: This Just In | Trib List | ICycle | Flow Back  


» Top TribLIVE.com Sports
» Top TribLIVE.com News
» Top TribLIVE.com Breaking News