Parker, Blyleven denied again


The 2009 Hall of Fame class was announced this afternoon, with Rickey Henderson and Jim Rice getting the call.

Henderson, the all-time steals leader, was a no-brainer. Rice made it in his final year of eligibility.

Four former Pirates — Bert Blyleven, Dave Parker, Dan Plesac and Jay Bell — did not received the minimum 75 percent of support from Baseball Writers Association of America voters required for induction. Parker was checked on just 15 percent of the ballots, the same amount as last year.

There were 23 players on this year’s ballot, including 13 returning players. Both numbers were the lowest in the history of the HOF election.