Morgan scratched; Jackson claimed, Barthmaier cut


WASHINGTON — Nyjer Morgan was scratched from the lineup a few minutes ago. Morgan still is feeling a pinch in his sore left hamstring, which he injured while making a catch Friday night.

Morgan told manager John Russell he couldn’t go after doing some running on the field before batting practice. Morgan can handle straight-ahead sprints without problem, but feels a tweak when he makes a turn.

“I feel like a sissy,” Morgan said. “I don’t think it’s a major injury. But I’ve got to be smart about it.”

• The Pirates claimed right-hander Steve Jackson off waivers from the New York Yankees. To clear room on the 40-man roster, righty Jimmy Barthmaier was unconditionally released.

Jackson, 27, had one save and a 1.88 ERA in seven games (one start) this season for Triple-A Wilkes-Barre/Scranton. He was designated for assignment May 8.

Jackson was assigned to Triple-A Indianapolis. He was drafted in 2004 in the 10th round by Arizona, and traded to the Yankees in 2007 as part of a package which included Pirates starter Ross Ohlendorf.

• Weird Note of the Day: Tonight will mark the first time in major league history that two pitchers with the first name Ross (Ohlendorf and Nats lefty Ross Detwiler) start against each other.

• Class A Lynchburg already has two inside-the-park homers this season. Jordy Mercer hit one a week ago. Friday, Miles Durham tied the game against Wilmington in the eighth inning with a three-run inside job.

• Paul Maholm was the winner of fan voting online to determine the final bobblehead giveaway of the season. Maholm’s mini-me will be handed out Sept. 25.

# Lineups for today’s game:

PIRATES — 1. Delwyn Young rf, 2. Freddy Sanchez 2b, 3. Nate McLouth cf, 4. Craig Monroe lf, 5. Adam LaRoche 1b, 6. Robinzon Diaz c, 7. Andy LaRoche 3b, 8. Jack Wilson ss, 9. Ross Ohlendorf (4-3, 3.77) rhp

NATIONALS — 1. Cristian Guzman ss, 2. Nick Johnson 1b, Ryan Zimerman 3b, 4. Adam Dunn rf, 5. Josh Willingham lf, 6. Willie Harris cf, 7. Anderson Hernandez 2b, 8. Josh Bard c, 9. Ross Detwiler (season debut) lhp