Tabata among AFL picks


Outfielder Jose Tabata is among the seven prospects the Pirates will send to the Arizona Fall League — an almost certain indication he will not get a September call-up to the majors.

Also on the Scottsdale Scorpions roster are pitchers Donnie Veal, Dan Moskos and Tony Watson, and infielders Chase d’Arnaud and Brian Friday. There is one open spot for a pitcher, which will be filled later.

Veal will switch back to a starter in the AFL. Moskos and Watson will pitch out of the bullpen. The Pirates still project Moskos as a starter next season and beyond, but want to minimize his innings count in Arizona.

• Reliever Jeff Karstens is back in Pittsburgh, but has not yet been activated from the bereavement list. Karstens was granted time off to be with his sick grandmother.

• Outfielder Jeff Salazar, who was designated for assignment, cleared waivers and returned to Triple-A Indianapolis.

• Class A State College left-hander Mike Felix, a second-round draft pick in 2006, was benched after a DUI arrest. Felix was arrested early Friday morning in State College and was scratched from his scheduled start Saturday.

• Although lefty Phil Dumatrait missed most of the season while recovering from shoulder surgery, he still was active in workouts and rehab outings. That makes it likely the Pirates simply will shut him down this offseason, rather than ask Dumatrait to pitch in winter ball.

• The Pirates are running another “You score as the Pirates score” promotion during this series against the Phillies. For every run the Pirates score in the three-game set, the price will be reduced by $1 for selected left and right field box seats for the Sept. 4-6 series against the Cardinals. The regular ticket price is $24.

• Lineups for tonight’s game:

PHILLIES (72-50) — 1. Jimmy Rollins ss, 2. Shane Victorino cf, 3. Chase Utley 2b, 4. Ryan Howard 1b, 5. Raul Ibanez lf, 6. Matt Stairs rf, 7. Pedro Feliz 3b, 8. Carlos Ruiz c, 9. Joe Blanton (8-6, 3.86) rhp

PIRATES (51-71) — 1. Andrew McCutchen cf, 2. Delwyn Young 2b, 3. Garrett Jones rf, 4. Andy LaRoche 3b, 5. Ryan Doumit c, 6. Lastings Milledge lf, 7. Steve Pearce 1b, 8. Ronny Cedeno ss, 9. Ross Ohlendorf (11-8, 4.15) rhp