My NL MVP ballot


Earlier today, Joey Votto snagged his first NL MVP award. I was one of the 32 voters for the award and, as I do every year, I make my full ballot public after the winner is announced. Each voter listed 10 players, in order of preference.

Not every BBWAA member votes for MVP. It’s up to each chapter president to decide which members will vote for what award. This was the second year in a row I voted for NL MVP. In previous years, I’d voted for NL rookie of the year, NL Cy Young and AL manager of the year.

My ballot was based on statistical analysis, input from other beat writers, players and coaches as well as, in some instances, my gut feeling about how well the player fits the criteria.

My 2010 NL MVP ballot:

1. Joey Votto, Reds; 2. Albert Pujols, Cardinals; 3. Carlos Gonzalez, Rockies; 4. Ryan Howard, Phillies; 5. Adrian Gonzalez, Padres; 6. Troy Tulowitzki, Rockies; 7. Brian Heyward, Braves; 8. Roy Halladay, Phillies; 9. Ryan Braun, Brewers; 10. Ryan Zimmerman, Nationals