Twenty-five players signed


DUNEDIN, Fla. — The Pirates signed 25 players to one-year contracts. These guys are all pre-arbitration-eligible, so the team essentially can set their salaries. The team doesn’t release the dollar figures (which usually are not much higher than the $480,000 major league minimum) but those will trickle out over the course of the next few weeks. And just because a player is signed today — I’m thinking here of Andrew McCutchen and Neil Walker — doesn’t mean they can’t rip up the contract and agree to a multi-year deal.

The players signed today are: Chase d’Arnaud, Matt Hague, Josh Harrison, Gorkys Hernandez, Jared Hughes, Chris Leroux, Brad Lincoln, Jeff Locke, Starling Marte, Andrew McCutchen, Daniel McCutchen, James McDonald, Michael McKenry, Kyle McPherson, Jordy Mercer, Bryan Morris, Daniel Moskos, Yamaico Navarro, Gustavo Nunez, Rudy Owens, Alex Presley, Neil Walker, Tony Watson, Duke Welker and Justin Wilson.

BlueJays»»» Infielder Jeremy Farrell is on the travel list for today’s game. His father, John Farrell, is in his second year as Blue Jays manager. The Pirates are bringing three other minor leaguers: pitchers Ryan Beckman, Michael Dubee and Jose Diaz.

There will be no family reunion today for the d’Arnaud brothers, though. Chase, the Pirates infielder, did not make the trip to Dunedin. Travis d’Arnaud is a catcher in his first spring training camp with the Jays. Chase is older by two years than Travis.

Lineups for today’s game:

Pirates (0-0): 1. Jose Tabata rf, 2. Clint Barmes ss, 3. Neil Walker 2b, 4. Casey McGehee 1b, 5. Yamaico Navarro 3b, 6. Nate McLouth cf, 7. Jake Fox dh, 8. Gorkys Hernandez lf, 9. Michael McKenry c. Pitcher: James McDonald rhp

Blue Jays (0-0): 1. Yunel Escobar ss, 2. Kelly Johnson 2b, 3. Jose Bautista rf, 4. Adam Lind 1b, 5. Edwin Encarnacion dh, 6. Colby Rasmus cf, 7. Brett Lawrie 3b, 8. Eric Thames lf, 9. J.P. Arencibia c. Pitcher: Brett Cecil lhp