TribLIVE
Blogs | Sports | News
Pitt Locker Room

« Font size »
Decrease | Reset |Increase

Pitt’s 2011-12 basketball schedule released

 

Pitt hoops unveils 2011-12 schedule

 

 Pitt will open its Big East schedule at Notre Dame on Dec. 27 and wrap up the regular-season with its first trip to Connecticut’s on-campus Gampel Pavilion since 2006.

Pitt’s entire 2011-12 men’s basketball schedule was released today, highlighted by an 18-game Big East slate that includes home-and-home games with Louisville, USF and West Virginia.
Top games at Petersen Events Center include Louisville (Jan. 21), Georgetown (Jan. 28), Villanova (Feb. 5), West Virginia (Feb. 16) and St. John’s (Feb. 29).

Notable road games are Syracuse (Jan. 16), West Virginia (Jan. 30), Louisville (Feb. 26) and Connecticut (March 3).   

The 2011-12 schedule, which opens Nov. 11 against visiting Albany, features 15 national television appearances, highlighted by an ESPN College GameDay telecast on Jan. 21 for the Louisville game at Petersen Events Center.

The non-conference schedule, released in mid-August, includes nationally televised games at Tennessee (Dec. 3) as part of the Big East/SEC Challenge and against Oklahoma State on Dec. 10 at Madison Square Garden.

Pitt also will travel to play Penn on Nov. 25 as part of the Philly HoopGroup Classic and meet Duquesne at Consol Energy Center on Nov. 30 for the annual City Game.

The Penn game – Pitt’s first trip to the legendary Palestrea since 1986 – is the same day the Pitt football team plays at West Virginia in the Backyard Brawl. Times have yet to be announced for either game.

Pitt returns two starters from a 28-6 team that earned a No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament, its 10th consecutive trip to March Madness.

 

                                 2011-12 Pitt men’s basketball schedule  

Date                                      Opponent                                                         Time

Saturday, Oct. 22                BLUE-GOLD SCRIMMAGE                       TBA

Saturday, Oct. 29                LA ROCHE (Exh.)                                         TBA

Monday, Nov. 7                   KENTUCKY WESLEYAN (Exh.)               TBA

Friday, Nov. 11                    ALBANY                                                         TBA

Sunday, Nov. 13                  #RIDER                                                           TBA

Wednesday, Nov. 16           LONG BEACH STATE                                 TBA

Tuesday, Nov. 22                #La SALLE                                                     TBA

Friday, Nov. 25                     #at Penn                                                            TBA

Sunday, Nov. 27                  #ROBERT MORRIS                                     TBA

Wednesday, Nov. 30             vs. Duquesne (CBS-CS)                                   7 p.m.                                                             

                                              at Consol Energy Center

                                              Big East/SEC Challenge

Saturday, Dec. 3                    at Tennessee (ESPN)                                        5:15 p.m.

Tuesday, Dec. 6                   VMI                                                                 

                                              Madison Square Garden Classic (New York City))

Saturday, Dec. 10                  vs. Oklahoma State (ESPN2)                            2:30 p.m.

Saturday, Dec. 17                SOUTH CAROLINA STATE                      TBA

Tuesday, Dec. 20                 ST. FRANCIS, Pa.                                         TBA

Friday, Dec. 23                    WAGNER                                                       TBA

Tuesday, Dec. 27                  at *Notre Dame (ESPN2)                                 7 p.m.

Sunday, Jan. 1                    *CINCINNATI                                              TBA

Thursday, Jan. 5                    at *DePaul (ESPN2)                                         7 p.m.

Wednesday, Jan. 11            *RUTGERS                                                    TBA

Saturday, Jan. 14                   at *Marquette (ESPN-U)                                  2 p.m.

Monday, Jan. 16                   at *Syracuse (ESPN)                                        7:30 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 21                *LOUISVILLE (ESPN)                                 9 p.m.

Wednesday, Jan. 25            *PROVIDENCE                                             TBA

Saturday, Jan. 28                *GEORGETOWN (ESPN/ESPN2)               4 p.m.

Monday, Jan. 30                   at *West Virginia (ESPN)                                 7 p.m.

Sunday, Feb. 5                    *VILLANOVA (ESPN)                                 2 p.m.

Wednesday, Feb. 8                at *USF                                                             TBA

Sunday, Feb. 12                    at *Seton Hall                                                    TBA

Thursday, Feb. 16               *WEST VIRGINIA (ESPN/ESPN2)            9 p.m.

Sunday, Feb. 19                  *USF (ESPN2)                                                7 p.m.

Sunday, Feb. 26                    at *Louisville (CBS)                                         2 p.m.

Wednesday, Feb. 29            *ST. JOHN’S (ESPN-U)                                7 p.m.

Saturday, March 3                 at *Connecticut (ESPN/ESPN2)                       Noon

Tue.-Sat., March 6-10           at Big East Championship (ESPN)`                  TBA

#Philly HoopGroup Classic .

*indicates Big East Conference games.

All home games played in the Petersen Events Center.

 

 

Other blogs
Sports: Rob Rossi | Steel Mill | Chipped Ice | Bucco Blog | Sitting Ringside | Pitt Locker Room | Penn State Sports | H.S. Sports Insiders | Trailing Off
News: This Just In | Trib List
» Top TribLIVE.com Sports
» Top TribLIVE.com News
» Top TribLIVE.com Breaking News