Blogs | Sports | News
H.S. Sports Insiders

Girman, Laylock or Dierdorf?


The WPIAL baseball championships had a few outstanding individual performances, including the no-hitter thrown by Serra’s Alain Girman during Wednesday’s Class A championship. So, taking the entire playoffs into account, but with more emphasis placed upon the championship games, here’s the unofficial all-tournament team according to HS Blog:

C: Matt Rubino, Hopewell

1B: Mark Jackson, North Allegheny

2B: Zac LaNeve, Pine-Richland

SS: Matt Berezo, Pine-Richland

3B: Mike Jeffreys, Moon

OF: Marlo Cleckley, Beaver Falls

OF: Ronny Peirish, Pine-Richland

OF: Dave Yakopec, Burrell

P: Alain Girman, Serra Catholic

P: Scott Dierdorf, Hopewell

P: Stephen Laylock, Pine-Richland

Playoff MVP? Now that’s a tough choice. We have to consider Girman, who threw consecutive no-hitters in the semifinals and finals. But what about Laylock, who pitched Pine-Richland through a tough Class AAAA bracket? My vote goes to Hopewell’s Dierdorf, who not only earned three wins on the mound, but also hit two home runs, including a fourth-inning blast during a 2-1 championship game victory over Moon.

– Chris Harlan (

Please Enter Your Facebook App ID. Required for FB Comments. Click here for FB Comments Settings page

Other blogs
Sports:Steel Mill | Chipped Ice | Bucco Blog | iPreps | Pitt Locker Room | Penn State Sports
News: Backstory | Doug Oster on Gardening | Off-Road Politics | Flowback | ICycle  

» Top Sports
» Top News
» Top Breaking News